Dreams of New England

I wrote this poem when I returned to England UK after a visit to New England, which I adored. It helps me remember the wonderful time I had and the different places I visited. The trip ended in Boston and I can see Quincy Market, smell the aroma of the array of cuisine as I write . . .

I dream in colour
Like the New England fall
Burnt orange pierced
in sunlight
Apple-red transposed
on fading green,
Pumpkin hues call
for Thanksgiving.

I return to my
own England
Of leaves on
the line,
Sludge kicked into
Gutters, soaked in rain
and more rain
and more
But I still dream
In colours
Like the New England fall

© Liz MacKenzie

Leave a Reply

